It’s been …one week since you looked at me…..

Posted: April 25, 2012 in Act 1 Scene 1

Ahh. Another milestone reached. It brings forth a sense of accomplishment if you have goals/milestones set before your path on any journey. Landmarks, if you will, that help identify where you are, where you are going, and where you’ve been. On this journey, the big landmarks are each round of chemo accomplished, new scans to see if progression has been made to rid myself of this disease, and the big finale, remission. But along the path will be milestones that don’t have too much relevance, but should be noted to help with positive reinforcement that everything is moving forward. Which is where we are at now. Its been one week officially since my first treatment and it has been a very positive one indeed. My body has responded overall very well to all that it has been put through and I actually feel quasi normal. I haven’t had many of the “bad” side effects that are labeled with chemo, at least not on this leg of the relay. Now mind you, I’m not feeling cocky and walking around with a swagger, thinking I am gonna come out of this unscathed.  Well, maybe a little. I don’t mind to get my “swag on”, but I do know that this is just the beginning of the path into the deep dark forest. But, I’m not as worried..scared of what lies ahead. I feel that the reason why I have such a positive outlook on it is in the way I focus on things. I put my focus on other points of matter than on the cancer. When I was a kid, I always used this tactic when walking home as it was getting dark. I would put my focus on singing a song, drumming a beat, thinking of something entirely different than the darkness looming on the horizon. I would sometimes bring my focus to streetlights and mark them as my milestones to get me through until I reached the safe haven of home. I found if I didn’t think about it being dark and the terrors that could present themselves if I focused on it, I wouldn’t be scared. I never looked back, just kept pushing through making sure I made each marker and telling myself I only had a few more to go before I get home. Even at a young age, making goals and achieving them helped me get through the most difficult times. And I know during this journey, I’m using the basics that I did back then. I could totally get caught up with the “terrors” of chemo/cancer and let it consume me with fear. But I am putting focus back on other things to keep my mind entertained as I travel through this difficult time. Hitting each landmark and milestone, reminding myself that as I reach them, I only have a few more to make before I reach safe haven. No looking back, focusing on the future and continuously pushing through. Sometimes, it’s the simple logic of a child that can conquer the toughest of situations.  So, here is to my one week down, 17 more to go. Pray that my body, mind, and spirit hold up as well as it did through the first.

 

Comments
  1. DAVID GORHAM says:

    Hi Johnny,

    Here are a couple of scriptures that I believe will make good sense to you and help direct your path. Listen closely to all these words, please. I chose these for you myself and I know you to be an honorable man with a true heart of love. Be strong in the Lord.

    2 Timothy 1:7
    For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.

    AND ….

    Proverbs 3
    (NKJV)

    3 My son, do not forget my law,
    But let your heart keep my commands;
    2 For length of days and long life
    And peace they will add to you.

    3 Let not mercy and truth forsake you;
    Bind them around your neck,
    Write them on the tablet of your heart,
    4 And so find favor and high esteem
    In the sight of God and man.

    5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
    And lean not on your own understanding;
    6 In all your ways acknowledge Him,
    And He shall direct your paths.

    7 Do not be wise in your own eyes;
    Fear the Lord and depart from evil.
    8 It will be health to your flesh,
    And strength to your bones.

Leave a comment