Calm before the storm….

Posted: October 21, 2013 in Act 1 Scene 2

It’s almost been 11 weeks since a CT scan was performed to show multiple lymph nodes were swollen in my body, leading to the diagnosis of Non Hodgkin’s Follicular Lymphoma. My how time has flown by this treatment. I am on the eve of treatment #3. The halfway point on this leg of the journey. And as i look back on my previous posts, I was so ready for a vicious war with cancer. But what I have encountered is totally not what I thought it would be. To put it lighty, it seems to me that the cancer has layed down, played dead, holdig a white flag of surrender without much of a fight. Figurtively, I dont have a blemish on my armor, no scratches, dents, rust, or any other tainted substance. In fact, the biposy was harder to deal with than the cancer so far. Amazing. Hearing the stories that come along with the wars over the years fought by other warriors against this disease, I was prepared to take battling to a new level and coming up with defensive stratigies that I have yet had to implement. My wife jokingliy calls me a “super soldier”, but i refuse to dress up in red white and blue tights with a big “A” on my forehead. I’m more of a “Hulk …Smash” kid of guy! But, I’m very lucky.

Leave a comment